CSM was founded in 1888 to meet the demands of the industry and to train the next generation of prosperous miners. The school was located in the Cornish town of Camborne, and the first principal of CSM was J J Beringer who is pictured here.
Within two years CSM had 189 students. Some students chose to work during the day at local mines, gaining practical experience, and would take evening classes at CSM for a more thorough, theoretical education.
CSM obtained its own teaching mine at South Condurrow, which allowed more practical teaching sessions. The Mine was renamed as King Edward Mine in 1901 on the ascension of King Edward VII. The mine flooded in the 1920s but teaching continued there for surface operations until the 1970s.
During this year the first edition of the Camborne School of Mines Magazine was released. Aside from brief pauses during both World Wars, the magazine has been produced continually for over 120 years - now in the form of the CSM annual journal. The magazine is a fascinating record of CSM life, with articles written by staff, mining reports, technological innovations content and upcoming events.
During this period CSM transformed into an internationally renowned organisation for mining education, with many alumni working with great success in the UK and overseas.
The first bottle match was played between CSM and Royal School of Mines (RSM), making it the second oldest rugby varsity match in the world.
CSM merged with other full-time mining Schools in Cornwall, such as Redruth and Penzance, under the name of ‘School of Metalliferous Mining (Cornwall)’. However, the name of ‘Camborne School of Mines’ continued to be dominant.
Many CSM students left to undertake military service during the First World War. Many served in the dangerous tunneling companies of the Royal Engineers, using their knowledge of excavation and explosives. The CSM war memorial lists the names of 70 students who lost their lives.
Student numbers were again affected by the large number of young men leaving for military Service during the Second World War, down to just 42 in 1945.
In 1942 CSM allowed 17 year olds to undertake the Associateship in a shorter period of just over 2 years by cutting short vacation periods, thus enabling young men to complete their qualification before their military service.
For those who preferred to work for the war effort rather than fight, known as ‘optants’, the School also ran special courses in Practical Mining.
Initially, CSM was located in Camborne for almost a century however, following an investment, they relocated to purpose-built facilities mid-way between Camborne and Redruth and remain here today. Around this time, the Associateship of the Camborne School of Mines qualification was formalised into an accredited BEng Mining Engineering programme, and additional degree programmes were also introduced.
The Geothermal Energy ‘Hot Rocks’ Project begins. This multi million pound project pioneered research into the extraction of geothermal energy and ran until 1991. Also saw collaboration on international scale – colleagues in France Germany, Sweden and Switzerland. This research project was enabled by the granite bedrock that is found in Cornwall.
Although there has been a long history of women attending CSM through evening classes and its original art school, and academic awards in the 1970s and 80s, Julie Holl is the First Female BSc Graduate in this year.
CSM joined the University of Exeter in 1993. This inclusion increased students numbers and expanded their programme portfolio.
Initiatives by the University of Exeter and others to expand Higher Education provision in Cornwall came to fruition in 1999 with the launch of the Combined Universities in Cornwall (CUC) Initiative. In addition, CSM moved to for the second time to a multi million pound development at the former Tremough estate, now known today as the Penryn campus, were they now remain today.