Colloquia and seminars

Tuesday 19 Nov 2019Climate Change - Oceans and Ice

Prof. Mat Collins - University of Exeter

Harrison 103 18:30-19:30

Thursday 21 Nov 2019Intelligent Mobile Edge Computing: From Ground to Sky

Dr. Kezhi Wang - Northumbria University

Harrison 170 14:00-15:00

Thursday 21 Nov 2019Simulating the Evolution and Eruption of Bipolar Active Regions

Dr Stephanie Yardley - University of St Andrews

Harrison 103 14:30-16:30

Friday 22 Nov 2019Solid-State Spin-Photon Interfaces: Old Friends & New

Mete Atature - University of Cambridge

Newman Red 12:30-13:30

Friday 22 Nov 2019Delivering First Time Sewerage to Rural Communities in the UK

Chris Rogers - Engineering Consultant

Harrison 170 14:30-15:30

Tuesday 26 Nov 2019Spatial Scales and Locality of Magnetic Helicity

Gareth Hawkes - University of Exeter

Harrison 170 13:30-15:30

Tuesday 26 Nov 2019[Journal Club] Title: TBD

Aarynn Carter - University of Exeter

4th Floor Interaction Area, Physics building 11:15-11:40

Tuesday 26 Nov 2019Dynamics Seminar: Self-propelled Topological Defects

Julia M. Yeomans - University of Oxford

Harrison 103 13:30-15:30

Wednesday 27 Nov 2019[Seminar] TBC

Dr Cass Hall - University of Leicester

4th floor, Physics building 14:00-15:00

Thursday 28 Nov 2019NT Seminar: Computers and number theory

Prof. Kevin Buzzard - Imperial College

H103 14:30-16:30

Thursday 28 Nov 2019The Internet of Things: A Radical Change in Network Data Traffic Patterns

Dr. Miguel Lopez-Benitez - University of Liverpool

Harrison 170 14:00-15:00

Tuesday 03 Dec 2019[Journal Club] Title: TBD

Jake Eager - University of Exeter

4th Floor Interaction Area, Physics building 11:15-11:40

Tuesday 03 Dec 2019Social Enterprise, Innovating To Save The Planet

James Brown of Mobiloo -

The Deck, Innovation Centre, Streatham Campus 17:00-18:45

Tuesday 03 Dec 2019Dynamics Seminar: TBA

Julian Newman - University of Exeter

Harrison 103 13:30-15:30

Wednesday 04 Dec 2019 [Seminar] TBC

Prof Richard Alexander - University of Leicester

4th floor, Physics building 14:00-15:00

Thursday 05 Dec 2019NT Seminar: TBA

Prof. Lynne Walling - University of Bristol

H103 14:30-16:30

Thursday 05 Dec 2019Variational principles for three-dimensional wave-structure-slosh interactions

Dr. Hamid Alemi Ardakani - University of Exeter

Harrison 101 14:30-16:30

Friday 06 Dec 2019Augmenting the vision of the endoscopist: Seeing early cancer in a new light

Sarah Bohndiek - University of Cambridge

Newman Red 12:30-13:30

Friday 06 Dec 2019Title TBC

Professor Rosa Barciela - Met Office

Harrison 170 14:30-15:30

Tuesday 10 Dec 2019GAFD seminar

Prof. Peter Clark - University of Reading

Harrison 103 13:30-15:30

Tuesday 10 Dec 2019Statistical Science Seminar

Dr Theresa Smith - University of Bath, UK

Harrison 101 14:30-16:30

Tuesday 10 Dec 2019TBA

Kagawa University -

Takaaki Aoki 13:30-15:30

Tuesday 10 Dec 2019[Journal Club] Title: TBD

Arthur Le Saux - University of Exeter

4th Floor Interaction Area, Physics building 11:15-11:40

Thursday 12 Dec 2019Pure Mathematics Seminar: TBA

Prof. Carl Dettmann - University of Bristol

H103 14:30-16:30

Friday 13 Dec 2019Is valuing blue-green-infrastructure beyond our ken?

Prof. Richard Ashley - University of Sheffield

Harrison 170 14:30-15:30

Thursday 19 Dec 2019Statistical Science Christmas Seminar

Dr James Salter - University of Exeter

Harrison 101 14:30-16:30

Tuesday 07 Jan 2020[Journal Club] Title: TBD

Andy Wilson - University of Exeter

4th Floor Interaction Area, Physics building 11:15-11:40

Thursday 09 Jan 2020Simplified Integrated Nested Laplace Approximation

Prof Simon Wood - University of Bristol, UK

Harrison 101 14:30-16:30

Friday 10 Jan 2020Title TBC

Sarah Bunney - University of Exeter

Harrison 170 14:30-15:30

Tuesday 14 Jan 2020[Journal Club] Title: TBD

Michelle Wilson - University of Exeter

4th Floor Interaction Area, Physics building 11:15-11:40

Thursday 16 Jan 2020title to be confirmed

Dr. Raul Santos-Rodriguez - University of Bristol

Harrison 170 14:00-15:00

Friday 17 Jan 2020Title TBC

Dr Matteo Rubinato - Coventry University

Harrison 170 14:30-15:30

Tuesday 21 Jan 2020[Journal Club] Title: TBD

Shrishmoy Ray - University of Exeter

4th Floor Interaction Area, Physics building 11:15-11:40

Friday 24 Jan 2020Cavity optomechanics: the ultimate sensor toolbox

Ying Lia Li - University College London

Newman Red 12:30-13:30

Friday 31 Jan 2020Title TBC

Prof. Ian Barker - Water Policy International Ltd

Harrison 170 14:30-15:30

Wednesday 05 Feb 2020[Seminar] TBC

Kristina Kislyakova - University of Vienna

4th floor, Physics building 14:00-15:00

Friday 14 Feb 2020Testing the standard model of cosmology using large-scale structure

Ian McCarthy - Liverpool John Moores University

Newman Red 12:30-13:30

Monday 17 Feb 2020[Seminar] TBC

Oliver Shorttle - University of Cambridge

4th floor, Physics building 14:00-15:00

Tuesday 25 Feb 2020Dynamics Seminar: TBA

Jeroen Lamb - Imperial College London

H103 13:30-15:30

Friday 28 Feb 2020Title TBC

Ruth Allen - RSKW Ltd

Harrison 170 14:30-15:30

Wednesday 04 Mar 2020[Seminar] TBC

Mario Guarcello - INAF Astronomical Observatory of Palermo

4th floor, Physics building 14:00-15:00

Friday 13 Mar 2020Nitride single photon sources

Rachel Oliver - University of Cambridge

Newman Red 12:30-12:30

Wednesday 25 Mar 2020[Seminar] TBC

Melvyn Davies - Lund Observatory

4th floor, Physics building 14:00-15:00

Friday 27 Mar 2020Title TBC

James Tremlett -

Harrison 170 14:30-15:30