Colloquia and seminars

Friday 24 Jan 2020Cavity optomechanics: the ultimate sensor toolbox

Ying Lia Li - University College London

Newman Red 12:30-13:30

Friday 24 Jan 2020Development of modelling led surface water abstraction systems

Dr James Shucksmith - University of Sheffield

Harrison 103 14:35-15:25

Tuesday 28 Jan 2020Dynamics Seminar: Learning from signals on graphs with unobserved edges

Michael Schaub - University of Oxford

Harrison 103 13:30-15:30

Thursday 30 Jan 2020Challenges for modelling fusion plasmas

Dr. Wayne Arter - UKAEA

Harrison 170 14:30-15:30

Friday 31 Jan 2020Four meals away from anarchy - water and food security

Prof. Ian Barker - Water Policy International Ltd

Harrison 103 14:35-15:25

Wednesday 05 Feb 2020[Seminar] TBC

Kristina Kislyakova - University of Vienna

4th floor, Physics building 14:00-15:00

Friday 07 Feb 2020Title TBC

Dr William Bateman - CCell

Harrison 103 14:35-15:25

Wednesday 12 Feb 2020[Seminar] TBD

Vivien Parmentier - University of Oxford

4th floor, Physics building 14:00-15:00

Thursday 13 Feb 2020Joint GAFD/Astrophysics Seminar

Prof. Tamara Rogers - University of Newcastle

Harrison 103 14:30-16:30

Thursday 13 Feb 2020[Joint GAFD/Astrophysics Seminar] TBC

Tamara Rogers - University of Newcastle

Harrison 103 14:30-16:30

Friday 14 Feb 2020Testing the standard model of cosmology using large-scale structure

Ian McCarthy - Liverpool John Moores University

Newman Red 12:30-13:30

Friday 14 Feb 2020Water quality in Colombia: regulations for peace and equality.

Paula Cuero - University of Exeter

Harrison 103 14:35-15:25

Monday 17 Feb 2020[Seminar] TBC

Oliver Shorttle - University of Cambridge

4th floor, Physics building 14:00-15:00

Thursday 20 Feb 2020NT Seminar: TBA

Vladimir Guletskii - University of Liverpool

H103 14:30-16:30

Friday 21 Feb 2020Transforming water network operations using the digital twin

David Fortune - Innovyze/University of Exeter

Harrison 103 14:35-15:25

Thursday 27 Feb 2020Statistical Science Seminar

Dr James Salter -

Harrison 101 14:30-16:00

Friday 28 Feb 2020The future for water: politically, operationally and climatically

Professor Ruth Allen - RSKW Ltd

Harrison 103 14:35-15:25

Tuesday 03 Mar 2020Dynamics Seminar: TBA

Jeroen Lamb - Imperial College London

Harrison 103 13:30-15:30

Wednesday 04 Mar 2020[Seminar] TBC

Mario Guarcello - INAF Astronomical Observatory of Palermo

4th floor, Physics building 14:00-15:00

Thursday 05 Mar 2020TBC

Simon McIntosh-Smith - University of Bristol

Harrison 101 14:30-16:30

Thursday 05 Mar 2020NT Seminar: TBA

Asmaa Shamesaldeen - University of Exeter

H103 14:30-16:30

Tuesday 10 Mar 2020GAFD seminar

Dr Anna Kalogirou - University of Nottingham

Harrison 103 13:30-16:30

Thursday 12 Mar 2020Statistical Science Seminar

Dr FranÁois-Xavier Briol -

Harrison 101 14:30-16:00

Thursday 12 Mar 2020Dynamics Seminar: TBA

Rob Sturman - University of Leeds

TBA 13:30-14:30

Friday 13 Mar 2020Is valuing blue-green-infrastructure beyond our ken?

Prof. Richard Ashley - University of Sheffield

Harrison 103 14:35-15:25

Friday 13 Mar 2020Nitride single photon sources

Rachel Oliver - University of Cambridge

Newman Red 12:30-12:30

Tuesday 17 Mar 2020Mathematics Colloquium: TBA

Paul Glendinning - University of Manchester

Harrison 103 13:30-15:30

Thursday 19 Mar 2020NT Seminar: TBA

Dr Sandro Bettin - Universita di Genova

H103 14:30-16:30

Wednesday 25 Mar 2020[Seminar] TBC

Melvyn Davies - Lund Observatory

4th floor, Physics building 14:00-15:00

Thursday 26 Mar 2020Statistical Science Seminar

Dr Jennifer Wadsworth -

Harrison 101 14:30-16:00

Friday 27 Mar 2020Severn Trent Water Network Analysis Project 2016 - Present

James Tremlett - MWH Treatment

Harrison 103 14:35-15:25

Thursday 14 May 2020title to be confirmed

Dr. Xiaowei Huang - University of Liverpool

Harrison 170 14:30-15:30