Awards and achievements

ERC grants

The Astrophysics group has been awarded ten prestigious ERC grants:

Professor Isabelle Baraffe ERC Advanced 2013-18, ERC Advanced 2018-2023
Professor Gilles Chabrier ERC Advanced 2010-15
Professor Matthew Bate ERC Advanced 2014-19
Dr Matthew Browning ERC Starting 2014-19
Dr Clare Dobbs ERC Starting 2011-16, ERC Consolidator 2019-24
Dr David Sing  ERC Starting 2014-19
Dr Stefan Kraus ERC Starting 2015-20
Dr Sean Matt ERC Consolidator 2016-21


During the period 2010-2014 the group also held/obtained the following awards:

Professor Matthew Bate European Young Investigator 2005-2010
Dr Stefan Kraus STFC Rutherford 2013-18
Professor Gilles Chabrier

Grand Prix Jean Ricard of the French Physical Society, 2010
Eddington Medal of the Royal Astronomical Society, 2011
Prize Ampère 2014: a scientific prize awarded annually by the French Academy of Sciences for outstanding research work in mathematics or physics
Fred Hoyle Medal and Prize, 2019

Professor Isabelle Baraffe Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award, 2010
Dr Stefan Kraus Philip Leverhulme prize, 2013


Professor Isabelle Baraffe appointed to Science and Technology Facilities Council 

Professor Isabelle Baraffe has been appointed as a new member of the Science and Technology Facilities Council.

Professor Baraffe, Head of Astrophysics here at the University of Exeter, was announced as one of ten members of the Council, the senior strategic body of the prominent organisation on Friday, 23 March by the Board of UK Research and Innovation.

She is serving a three-year term on the Council from the launch of the UK Research and Innovation (UKRI) on 1 April 2018. Read more