Skip to main content

Currently active PhD students

2017 cohort
David Tatnell

David Tatnell

PhD project: Micro-acoustic arrays for active sound control

Supervisors: Prof Alastair Hibbins and Dr David Horsell

Iago Rodriguez Diez

Iago Rodriguez Diez

PhD project: Nanolasers based on microdisks and photonic crystals

Supervisors: Dr Isaac Luxmoore and Prof Geoff Nash

Ioannis Leontis

Ioannis Leontis

PhD project: The demonstration of room temperature (RT) quantum electrical analogues of optical elements and circuits

Supervisors: Prof Monica Craciun and Prof Saverio Russo

Jessica Brown

Jessica Brown

PhD project: Cell sorting using surface acoustic waves and phononic crystals

Supervisors: Prof Geoff Nash and Dr Peter Petrov

Konstantinos-Andreas Anastasiou

Konstantinos-Andreas Anastasiou

PhD project: Flexible hyperspectral infrared detectors

Supervisors: Prof Saverio Russo and Prof Monica Craciun

Peter Inzani

Peter Inzani

PhD project: Theoretical models of a new class of magneto-elastic metamaterials 

Supervisors: Prof Feodor Ogrin and Prof Andrew Gilbert

Shane Davies

Shane Davies

PhD project: Nanoscale patterning of interfaces for thermo-electrics

Supervisors: Dr Steve Hepplestone and Prof GP Srivastava

Simon Baber

Simon Baber

PhD project: Plasmonic metamaterials for single photon sources and quantum technology

Supervisors: Dr Isaac Luxmoore and Prof Bill Barnes

2018 cohort

Benjamin Pearce

PhD project: Metasurfaces and Phononic Crystals for Manipulating Fluid Flow and Acoustics

Supervisors: Prof Alastair HibbinsProf Roy Sambles and Dr Peter Petrov

Beth Staples

PhD project: Control of flow-induced near-field noise through the use of metasurfaces

Supervisors: Prof Alastair HibbinsProf Roy Sambles and Dr Alan Curtis

Connor Sait

PhD project: A quantum thermodynamic study to improve magnetic data storage

Supervisors: Prof Robert Hicken and Dr Paul Keatley

Conor Price

PhD project: Two-dimensional Metamaterial Batteries

Supervisors: Dr Steve Hepplestone, Prof Misha Portnoi and Prof Saverio Russo

David Newman

PhD project: Detection of magnetic meta-atom dynamics by x-ray ferromagnetism resonance

Supervisors: Prof Robert Hicken, Dr Mustafa Aziz and Dr Maciej Dabrowski

Dean Patient

PhD project: Solid State Refrigeration using 2D/Meta materials

Supervisors: Prof Geoff Nash and Dr Simon Horsley

Euan Humphreys

PhD project: The development of novel electronic and photonic metadevices for adaptive multispectral imaging in the infrared

Supervisors: Prof C. David Wright and Prof Jacopo Bertolotti

Hannah Barnard

PhD project: Nanoscale Infrared Biomolecule Spectroscopy (NIBS)

Supervisors: Prof Geoff Nash, Dr Jonathan Phillips and Dr Isaac Luxmoore

Ineta Grikalaite

PhD project: Terahertz photonic metadevices with carbon nanomaterials 

Supervisors: Dr Ana Neves and Dr Anna Baldycheva 

Jacob Binsley

PhD project: Magnetoelastic metamaterials for lab-on-a-chip technology

Supervisors: Prof Feodor Ogrin, Dr Stefano Pagliara and Prof Francesca Palombo

Jamie Le Signe

PhD project: Probing mechanics in quantum mechanics – Josephson nano-resonator metamaterials

Supervisors: Prof Saverio Russo and Dr Eros Mariani

Joe Shields

PhD project: All dielectric phase-change metamaterial-based holography

Supervisors: Prof C. David WrightProf Jacopo Bertolotti and Dr Arseny Alexeev

Karl Jonas Riisnaes

PhD project: Strong light-matter interactions in perovskites

Supervisors: Prof Monica CraciunProf Saverio Russo and Dr Namphung Peimyoo

Katie Lewis

PhD project: Advanced Magnetic Materials for Radio, Microwave and Millimetre-wave applications

Supervisors: Prof Alastair HibbinsProf Feodor Ogrin and Prof Roy Sambles

Kavya Sadanandan

PhD project: Plasmonic-enhanced organic photovoltaics for wearable applications

Supervisors: Dr Ana Neves and Prof Monica Craciun

Konstantinos Othon Chatzimpaloglou

PhD project: Optical detection of magnetization dynamics induced by spin orbit torques

Supervisors: Prof Robert Hicken and Dr Paul Keatley

Narima Eerqing

PhD project: Testing fluctuation relations of conformal changes of biomolecules

Supervisors: Prof Frank Vollmer and Prof Janet Anders

Oliver Latcham

PhD project: Excitation of spin waves in magnetic elements using surface acoustic waves

Supervisors: Prof Volodymyr KruglyakProf Geoff Nash and Dr Tom Heyward

Rachel Lennon

PhD project: Towards flexible micro-endoscopy: compressive characterisation and control of light propagation through multi-mode optical fibres

Supervisors: Dr Dave Phillips and Prof Jacopo Bertolotti

Sara-Kate Lavers

PhD project: Topological polaritons in atomically thin metasurfaces

Supervisors: Prof Saverio RussoDr Eros Mariani and Prof Bill Barnes

Valentin Haemmerli

PhD project: Ultrafast single photon sources

Supervisors: Dr Isaac Luxmoore and Prof Bill Barnes

Wai Jue Tan

PhD project: Photosynthetic Metamaterials

Supervisors: Prof Bill BarnesDr Isaac Luxmoore and Dr Philip Thomas

2019 cohort

Ed Baker

PhD project: Hybrid 2D Heterostructures for Energy Storage and other applications

Supervisors: Dr Steve Hepplestone and Prof Saverio Russo

James Capers

PhD project: Exploring the space of electromagnetic materials, with applications to antenna design

Supervisors: Dr Simon Horsley and Prof Alastair Hibbins

James Laurenson

PhD project: To Model and Manipulate Material Scatter Effects to Control the Propagation of Electromagnetic Radiation

Supervisors: Prof Jacopo Bertolotti and Dr Simon Horsley

Joe Pady

PhD project: Chalcogenide-based memory and logic for flexible electronics applications 

Supervisors: Prof C. David Wright and Prof Monica Craciun

Joe Pitfield

PhD project: The Search for New Materials: Using Quantum Mechanics and Theoretical Modelling to Predict New Material Structures and Phases in Constrained Systems 

Supervisors: Dr Steve Hepplestone and Prof Misha Portnoi

Joshua Glasbey

PhD project: Manipulating the Coupling and Scattering between Surface Waves and Plane Waves on Metasurfaces and at their Discontinuities

Supervisors: Prof Alastair HibbinsProf Roy Sambles and Prof. Richard Craster

Leanne Stanfield

PhD project: Antenna efficiency and match manipulation using metamaterials

Supervisors: Prof Alastair HibbinsProf Roy Sambles and Dr James Dalley

William Borrows

PhD project: New materials and structures that control the propagation of acoustic radiation

Supervisors: Dr Steve Hepplestone and Dr David Horsell

2020 cohort

Dan Moore

PhD project: Making the world sound better – acoustic metamaterials for manipulating sound in air and underwater

Supervisors:  Prof Alastair Hibbins and Prof Roy Sambles

David Bruce

PhD project: New metasurfaces for acoustic control (Leaky Waves)

Supervisors: Prof Alastair Hibbins and Prof Roy Sambles

George Braid

PhD project: Laser implosion fusion for clean energy generation

Supervisors: Prof C. David Wright and Prof Jacopo Bertolotti

Jenner Gudge-Brooke

PhD project: Miniaturised helical antennas for superdirectivity

Supervisors: Prof Alastair Hibbins and Prof Roy Sambles

Kyle Arnold

PhD project: Artificial Magnetic Conductor Surfaces for Conformal Antenna Design

Supervisors: Prof Alastair Hibbins and Prof Roy Sambles

2021 cohort

Charlie Patrickson

PhD Project: Spin Qubits in 2D Materials

Supervisors: Dr Isaac Luxmoore and Prof Geoff Nash

Jonathon Smith

PhD Project: Next Generation metasurfaces: tensorial surfaces for novel antenna functionality

Supervisors: Prof Alastair Hibbins, Dr Simon Horsley and Dr Ian Hooper

Stuart Kendall

PhD Project: Active optical metasurfaces for AI-based photonic computing

Supervisors: Prof C. David Wright and Prof Jacopo Bertolotti