Skip to main content

Our alumni and their destinations

Alba Paniagua

Dr Alba Paniagua Diaz (2014 cohort)

PhD project: Imaging in turbid and opaque media

Last destination: Optical Engineer at VOPTICA

Ben Ash

Dr Ben Ash (2014 cohort)

PhD project: Microphononic crystals

Last destination: Microsystems Engineer at Oxford HighQ

Cameron Gallagher

Dr Cameron Gallagher (2014 cohort)

PhD project: Domain structure and microwave characteristics of particulate magnetic composites

Last destination: Postdoctoral Research Fellow at the University of Exeter

Dr Chloe Spicer (2014 cohort)

PhD project: Excitation of picosecond magnetization dynamics by spin transfer torque

Last destination: Graduate Software Engineer at YouView TV Limited

Chris King

Dr Christopher King (2014 cohort)

PhD project: Using complex coordinates in optics

Last destination: Theoretical Physicist at QinetiQ


Dr. Conor McKeever (2014 cohort)

PhD project: Microscopic modelling of interacting magnetic particle assemblies in a dielectric medium at microwave frequencies.

Last destination: Researcher at MaxLLG (innovation for communication industry)

Erick Burgos

Dr Erick Burgos (2014 cohort)

PhD project: Time resolved imaging of spin transfer oscillator arrays: towards active magnetic microwave metamaterials

Last destination: Postdoctoral Research Fellow at the Unité Mixte de Physique CNRS/Thales (France)

Ilya Starshinov

Dr Ilya Starshynov (2014 cohort)

PhD project: Spontaneous generation of quantum correlations in natural media

Last destination: Postdoctoral Research Fellow at the University of Glasgow

Jake Mehew

Dr Jake Mehew (2014 cohort)

PhD project: Novel opto-electronic devices based on graphene plasmonics

Last destination: Postdoctoral Research Fellow at Catalan Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology

Laicong Deng

Dr Laicong Deng (2014 cohort)

PhD project: Nanoporous graphene materials for electrochemical energy storage and conversion applications

Last destination: Research role in a state-owned company in China

Lauren Barr

Dr Lauren Barr (2014 cohort)

PhD project: Chiral and magneto-optical phenomena in the near field of metamaterials

Last destination: Postdoctoral Research Fellow (QinetiQ/Exeter)

Sam Shelley

Dr Sam Shelley (2014 cohort)

PhD project: Metamaterial concepts for the control of hydrodynamic flow

Last destination: Looking for role


Dr Santiago García-Cuevas Carrillo (2014 cohort)

PhD project: Phase change metamaterials for optoelectronic device application

Last destination: Postdoctoral Research Fellow at the University of Exeter


Dr Sathya Sai Seetharaman (2014 cohort)

PhD project: Hyperbolic metamaterials and the emission of EM radiation

Last destination: Metamaterials Scientist at Metaboards


Dr Tanveer Ahmad Tabish (2014 cohort)

PhD project: Development of graphene nanostructures for use in anti-cancer nanomedicine

Last destination: Postdoctoral Research Fellow at the University of Exeter

Tom Graham

Dr Thomas Graham (2014 cohort)

PhD project: Minimising the acoustic reflection from structured surfaces

Last destination: Hydroacoustic Specialist at ATLAS ELEKTRONIK UK

Toby Octon

Dr Toby Octon (2014 cohort)

PhD project: Plasmonic 2D metal-dichalcogenide photodetectors for optical fibre communications applications

Last destination: Junior Data Scientist at GAIN Capital UK Ltd.

Dr Angus Laurenson (2015 cohort)

PhD project: Spin-wave interference in magnonic structure: Bragg scattering and beyond

Last destination: Scientific Researcher at Plymouth Marine Laboratory

Ben Hogan

Dr Ben Hogan (2015 cohort)

PhD project: 2D liquid composites for integrated optoelectronic devices on Si

Last destination: Postdoctoral Research Fellow at University of Oulu, Finland (starts April 2020)

Carlota Ruiz de Galarreta

Dr Carlota Ruiz de Galarreta (2015 cohort)

PhD project: Electronically controllable optical wavefront shaping with phase change materials

Last destination: Visiting Postdoctoral Research Fellow (Instituto de Óptica de Valdés/Exeter)

Cheng Shi

Dr Cheng Shi (2015 cohort)

PhD project: 2D/Meta-materials Infrared Optoelectronic Devices

Last destination: Research and Processes Engineer at WaveOptics 

Craig Tollerton

Dr Craig Tollerton (2015 cohort)

PhD project: Novel 2D materials for plasmonics and photonics

Last destination: Studying for a PGCE Maths Secondary at University of Exeter

Henry Fernandez

Dr Henry Fernandez (2015 cohort)

PhD project: Electronic and optical study of hybrid light-matter states

Last destination: Postdoctoral Research Fellow at the Aalto University (Finland)

Joe Morgan

Dr Joe Morgan (2015 cohort)

PhD project: Lightweight, transparent and sustainable Metamaterials

Last destination: Director of Sales and Marketing at Tacita

Joseph Beadle

Dr Joseph Beadle (2015 cohort)

PhD project: Exploration of acoustic waveguiding

Last destination: Postdoctoral Research Fellow (QinetiQ/Exeter)

Dr Joshua Hamilton (2015 cohort)  

PhD project: Magnetically actuated bio-inspired metamaterials 

Last destination: Postdoctoral Research Fellow (QinetiQ/Exeter)

Kishan Menghrajani

Dr Kishan Menghrajani (2015 cohort)

PhD project: Excitonics: an organic route to Metamaterials

Last destination: Postdoctoral Research Fellow at the University of Exeter

Liam Trimby

Dr Liam Trimby (2015 cohort)

PhD project: Chalcogenide perfect absorbers for the detection and modulation of infra-red radiation

Last destination: Hardware Engineer at Dashboard Limited.

Miguel Camacho Aguilar

Dr Miguel Camacho Aguilar (2015 cohort)

PhD project: Thin metal multilayers for microwave applications

Last destination: Postdoctoral Research Fellow at the University of Pennsylvania

Natalie Whitehead

Dr Natalie Whitehead (2015 cohort)

PhD project: Magnonics, Spintronics and Magnetic Metamaterials

Last destination: Founder of The Exeter Science Centre

Dr Tom Collier (2015 cohort)

PhD project: Carbon nanotube arrays for THz generation: Theory and applications

Last destination: Technical Assistant at Dehns (Patent Attorney Firm

David Osuna-Ruiz

David Osuna-Ruiz (2016 cohort, award pending)

PhD project: Magneto-actuated morphing metamaterials

Last destination: Postdoctoral Research Fellow at University of Exeter

Joaquin Faneca

Joaquin Faneca (2016 cohort, award pending)

PhD project: Photonic metamaterials for WDM optical communication applications

Last destination: Postdoctoral Research Fellow at Institute of Microelectronics of Barcelona (IMB-CNM)

Julia de Pineda Gutiérrez

Julia de Pineda Gutiérrez (2016 cohort, award pending)

PhD project: Exploration of beam shaping at microwave frequencies using metasurfaces and metamaterials

Last destination: Account Executive at GALGUS

Ned Taylor

Ned Taylor (2016 cohort, award pending)

PhD project: Understanding the mechanism of colossal permittivity materials

Last destination: Postdoctoral Research Fellow at University of Exeter

Pablo Martinez Pancorbo (2016 cohort, award pending)

PhD project: Functional, specially-doped Core-shell nanoparticles for biomedical imaging applications

Last destination: Postdoctoral Research Fellow at University of Tokyo

William Ferguson

Dr William Ferguson (2016 cohort)

PhD project: Broadband Vibration Energy Harvesting for Low Frequencies

Last destination: Head Coach at CoachBright

Zahid Hussain (2016 cohort, award pending)

PhD project: “Black” ZnO and TiO2 nanostructures for high efficient visible light photocatalysis

Last destination: Postdoctoral Research Fellow at Technical University of Munich (TUM)