Skip to main content

Past seminars

Thursday 27 May 20211st year Phd talks

Thomas Hutton and Daniel Williams -

online 13:30-14:30

Monday 17 May 20211st year Phd talks

Tim Andrews and Nell Hartney -

online 09:30-10:30

Tuesday 16 Feb 2021An introduction to multi-fluid convection

Dr. Will McIntyre - University of Exeter

Zoom 13:30-14:30

Tuesday 19 Jan 2021Seasonal, regional Hadley cell dynamics and Earth's monsoons

Dr. Ruth Geen - University of Exeter

Zoom 13:30-14:30

Tuesday 12 Jan 2021Nonlinear dynamics of forced baroclinic critical layers

Dr. Chen Wang - University of Exeter

Zoom 13:30-14:30

Tuesday 27 Oct 2020Evolution of the Sun's Magnetic Field and Space Weather

Dr. Prantika Bhowmik - Durham University

https://Universityofexeter.zoom.us/j/93020545827?pwd=aStYYTB6VGNzUzhwdjM3b1hqRkRSUT09 13:30-15:30

Tuesday 20 Oct 20201st year PhD student presentations 2

Brett McKim and Ross Castle - University of Exeter

Zoom 13:30-14:30

Thursday 15 Oct 20201st year PhD student presentations 1

Liam Watts and Azza Al Gatheem - University of Exeter

Zoom 14:30-15:30

Tuesday 14 Jul 2020Stability of jets and vortices in Geophysical and Astrophysical Fluid Dynamics

Prof. Fancis Poulin - University of Waterloo

Online - contact A. Hillier for webinar link 14:30-15:30

Tuesday 16 Jun 2020UK-SOSS seminar: Magnetic helicity: decompositions and methods of localization

Prof Mitchell Berger - University of Exeter

Online webinar - see abstract for access details 11:00-12:00

Thursday 11 Jun 2020Multiphase gas and the fractal nature of radiative turbulent mixing layers

Dr. Drummond Fielding - Center for Computational Astrophysics at the Flatiron Institute

Online - contact A. Hillier for webinar link 14:30-15:30

Tuesday 26 May 2020Coalescence instability in partially ionised plasmas

Giulia Murtas - University of Exeter

Online - contact A. Hillier for webinar link 13:30-14:30

Thursday 21 May 2020Polar Vortices on Terrestrial Planets

Prof. Darryn W. Waugh - John Hopkins University

Online - contact A. Hillier for webinar link 14:30-15:30

Thursday 14 May 2020Gusto: the compatible finite element dynamical core toolkit and why you might be interested in it.

Dr. Jemma shipton - University of Exeter

Online - contact A. Hillier for webinar link 14:30-15:30

Thursday 07 May 2020A fresh look at waves in ion-electron plasmas: reformulating the textbook treatments

Prof Rony Keppens - Centre for mathematical Plasma Astrophysics, KU Leuven

Online - contact A. Hillier for webinar link 14:30-15:30

Thursday 02 Apr 2020Modelling the asymmetry of Rayleigh-Taylor mixing

Dr. Andrew Hillier - University of Exeter

Online 14:30-15:30

Wednesday 18 Mar 20201st Year PhD student talks - Cancelled!!

Ross Castle, Brett McKim & Liam Watts - University of Exeter

Harrison 170 13:00-16:30

Tuesday 10 Mar 2020 Wave amplification phenomena and a novel wave-energy converter

Dr Anna Kalogirou - University of Nottingham

Harrison 103 13:30-16:30

Thursday 13 Feb 2020Internal Gravity Waves in Stellar Interiors

Prof. Tamara Rogers - University of Newcastle

Harrison 103 14:30-16:30

Tuesday 10 Dec 2019Direct estimation of entrainment, detrainment and other cloud properties

Prof. Peter Clark - University of Reading

Harrison 103 13:30-15:30

Thursday 05 Dec 2019Variational principles for three-dimensional wave-structure-slosh interactions

Dr. Hamid Alemi Ardakani - University of Exeter

Harrison 101 14:30-16:30

Tuesday 26 Nov 2019Spatial Scales and Locality of Magnetic Helicity

Gareth Hawkes - University of Exeter

Harrison 170 13:30-15:30

Thursday 21 Nov 2019Simulating the Evolution and Eruption of Bipolar Active Regions

Dr Stephanie Yardley - University of St Andrews

Harrison 103 14:30-16:30

Friday 15 Nov 2019The University of Colorado Space Weather Technology, Research, and Education Center (SWx TREC)

Dr. Thomas Berger - Director, SWx-TREC, University of Colarado

Forum SR 11 The Steve Edge room 14:30-16:30

Thursday 07 Nov 2019How do Planets Generate Their Magnetic Fields?

Prof. Peter Davidson - University of Cambridge

Harrison 101 14:30-16:30

Tuesday 29 Oct 2019Stratification effects in anelastic convection

Dr. Laura Currie - University of Exeter

Harrison 170 13:30-15:30

Tuesday 22 Oct 2019A Mechanism of the Madden-Julian Oscillation and its Relation to Excitable Media

Prof. Geoff Vallis - University of Exeter

Harrison 103 13:30-15:30

Wednesday 16 Oct 2019IRIS Data Workshop

Dr. Vanessa Polito - LMSAL

Peter Chalk 1.3 13:30-16:30

Monday 13 May 2019Shear instabilities at low Peclet number

Prof. Pascale Garaud - University of California, Santa Cruz

Harrison 170 14:30-15:30

Monday 25 Mar 2019Small-Scale Structures of the Earth's Magnetopause Kelvin-Helmholtz Waves with MMS

Rungployphan Kieokaew - University of Exeter

Harrison 170 14:30-16:30

Tuesday 19 Mar 2019Jupiter's deep atmosphere revealed by Juno

Prof. Yohai Kaspi - Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel

Amory C417 14:30-15:30

Monday 11 Mar 20191st Year PhD students' mid-year report

Megan Maunder, Paul Bowen and Giulia Murtas - University of Exeter

Harrison 170 14:30-17:00

Thursday 28 Feb 2019Dynamically Consistent Parameterization of Mesoscale Eddies

Dr Pavel Berloff - Imperial College London

Harrison 103 14:30-16:30

Thursday 07 Feb 2019Mars' annular polar vortices: Cause and stability

Dr William Seviour - University of Bristol

Harrison 103 14:30-16:30

Monday 21 Jan 2019Force balance in convectively driven dynamos with no inertia

Prof. David Hughes - University of Leeds

Harrison 103 14:30-16:30

Monday 14 Jan 2019 Resonance and universality in dynamical systems - a discussion

Dr. John Bruun - University of Exeter

Harrison 170 14:30-16:30

Monday 10 Dec 2018Sync or swim? How microorganisms navigate fluid environments

Dr Kirsty Wan - University of Exeter

H103 14:30-16:30

Wednesday 10 Oct 2018Mapping the Chromospheric Resonance Cavity above Sunspots

Dr. Ben Snow - University of Exeter

Harrison 170 13:30-15:30

Monday 24 Sep 2018Entangled fields emerging from the sun

Dr Chris Prior - Durham University

H103 14:30-16:30

Thursday 24 May 2018Gravity waves in a moist atmosphere: a mechanistic picture

Joy Monteiro - Stockholm University

H170 14:30-15:30

Thursday 15 Mar 2018Joint Astrophysics/GAFD Seminar (**CANCELLED**)

Prof. Gordon Ogilvie - University of Cambridge

H103 14:30-16:30

Thursday 08 Feb 2018Forest canopy - boundary layer flows over heterogeneous terrain

Prof. Andrew Ross - University of Leeds

H101 14:30-16:30

Monday 13 Nov 2017Tidal flows in extrasolar planets

Dr. Adrian Barker - University of Leeds

H103 14:30-16:30

Monday 30 Oct 2017Dynamics-radiation interactions in the tropical tropopause layer

Prof. Peter Haynes - University of Cambridge

H103 14:30-16:30

Thursday 13 Jul 2017The Hot, Magnetic and Happening Solar Atmosphere

Prof. Durgesh Tripathi - IUCAA, India

H170 14:00-15:00

Monday 27 Mar 2017Planetary core flows driven by libration

Dr Stijn Vantieghem - Coventry University

H103 14:30-16:30

Thursday 23 Mar 2017First year CGAFD PhD student talks

Gareth Hawkes and Georgie Long - University of Exeter

H103 14:30-16:30

Monday 27 Feb 2017Waves in the Earth's core (Joint Astrophysics/GAFD seminar)

Prof. Chris Jones - University of Leeds

H103 14:30-16:30

Monday 06 Feb 2017Dynamos in rotating convection

Dr Paul Bushby - Newcastle University

H103 14:30-16:30

Monday 16 Jan 2017An accelerating high-latitude jet in Earth's core

Prof. Phil Livermore - University of Leeds

H103 14:30-16:30

Thursday 08 Dec 2016Topics in the modelling and simulation of two-phase flows

Dr Lennon O'Naraigh - University College Dublin

H103 14:30-16:30

Monday 14 Nov 2016Tsunamis: the contrast between elevation and depression waves

Prof. Roger Grimshaw - University of Exeter

H103 14:30-16:30

Monday 07 Nov 2016Parallel in Time Simulation with Oscillatory Stiffness

Adam Peddle - University of Exeter

H103 14:30-16:30

Thursday 06 Oct 2016Scalar description of three-dimensional flows of incompressible fluid

Prof Yury Stepanyants - University of Southern Queensland, Australia

H101 15:30-16:30

Tuesday 03 May 2016Magnetohydrodynamic Waves in the Atmosphere of the Sun (GAFD Seminar)

Dr Erwin Verwichte - University of Warwick

Laver LT6 14:30-16:00

Friday 08 Apr 2016The effects of terrain length scales on cold-air pooling processes

Dr. Paul Burns - University College Dublin

H209  13:30-14:30

Thursday 24 Mar 2016Joys of Convective Stars and Their Magnetic Dynamos (Joint Astrophysics & GAFD Seminar)

Prof. Juri Toomre - JILA & Department of Astrophysical and Planetary Sciences, University of Colorado, Boulder, USA

H101 14:30-16:00

Monday 21 Mar 20163D Propagation of Solar Energetic Particles (GAFD Seminar)

Dr Silvia Dalla - University of Central Lancashire

H103 14:30-16:00

Monday 07 Dec 2015Statistical distance and geodesics in non-equilibrium systems (GAFD Seminar)

Dr Eun-Jin Kim - The University of Sheffield

Harrison 103 14:30-16:00

Friday 06 Nov 2015Dynamical Climate Perturbations and the Fluctuation-Dissipation Theorem (GAFD/Climate seminar)

Prof. Alan Plumb - Massachusetts Institute of Technology (visiting University of Reading)

H170 14:00-15:00

Monday 28 Sep 2015Convective instabilities in evolving systems (GAFD Seminar)

Dr Oliver Kerr - City University

Harrison 103 14:30-16:00

Tuesday 01 Sep 2015GAFD Seminar

Prof Tsutomu Kambe - Former Professor, University of Tokyo, Japan.

Laver LT6 10:30-12:00

Monday 18 May 2015Colloquium: Negative ions and photoelectrons in the Saturn system

Prof Andrew Coates - Mullard Space Science Laboratory, UCL

Harrison 004 15:00-16:00

Monday 20 Apr 2015Particle displacements by swimming organisms

Jean-Luc Thiffeault - University of Wisconsin, Madison

Harrison 170 15:00-16:00

Monday 30 Mar 2015Effective Boundary Conditions for Semi-Open Dispersive Systems

Lyuba Chumakova - University of Edinburgh

Harrison 170 11:00-12:00

Friday 20 Mar 2015Stratified shear turbulence: Application to overflows and gravity currents

Robert Ecke - Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA

Harrison 106 14:00-15:00

Monday 12 Jan 2015Dynamics and Thermodynamics effects on Cloud Feedbacks

Paolo Ceppi - University of Washington

Harrison 103 15:00-16:00

Thursday 08 Jan 2015Interactions between near-inertial waves and mesoscale motion in the ocean

Jacques Vanneste - University of Edinburgh

Harrison 103 15:00-16:00

Monday 08 Dec 2014Recent advances in sub-seasonal predictions

Gilbert Brunet - Met Office/ Environment Canada

Harrison 103 15:00-16:00

Monday 17 Nov 2014The dynamical influence of eddy fluxes

Dr James Maddison - University of Edinburgh

Harrison 103 15:00-16:00

Thursday 11 Sep 2014Hall effect in Neutron Star Crusts (Taylor and Francis sponsored)

Konstantinos Gourgouliatos - McGill University

H 170 15:00-16:00

Thursday 20 Mar 2014The onset of thermal convection in a rectangular container

Prof Funakoshi - Kyoto University

Harrison 103 15:00-16:00

Monday 10 Mar 2014A Critical View of Flare Energetics (Taylor and Francis sponsored)

Hugh Hudson - University of Glasgow/ Berkeley

Harrison 101 15:00-16:00

Wednesday 26 Feb 2014Inaugural Lecture - the challenge of exascale computing for weather and climate systems: the role of mathematics

Professor Beth Wingate - Mathematics, University of Exeter

Harrison LT 004 (and via video conference Peter Lanyon LT3, Penryn) 17:15-19:00

Monday 10 Feb 2014The propagation of nonlinear waves over variable topography (Taylor and Francis sponsored)

Prof Roger Grimshaw - University of Loughborough

Harrison 101 15:00-16:00

Monday 03 Feb 2014Long-term trends in solar magnetism (Taylor and Francis sponsored)

Matt Owens - University of Reading

Harrison 101 15:00-16:00

Monday 11 Nov 2013Parallelisation of dynamically changing grids with a cluster-based approach and invasion

Martin Schreiber - Technical University Munich

Harrison 101 15:00-16:00

Thursday 24 Oct 2013Critical layer and radiative instabilities in shallow water

Xavier Riedinger - University of Exeter

Harrison 101 15:00-16:00

Tuesday 28 May 2013CliMathNet seminar: Data assimilation and modelling the carbon cycle

Philip Aston and Sylvain Delahaies - University of Surrey

Harrison 209 16:00-17:00

Monday 04 Mar 2013Fluid dynamics seminar

Prof Xuesong Wu - Imperial College, London

LT04 15:00-16:00

Monday 18 Feb 2013GAFD seminar

Prof Chris Jones - University of Leeds

LT 004 15:00-16:00

Wednesday 30 May 2012The Mechanism of Disc Disruption by a Magnetic Star (Taylor and Francis sponsored)

Dr Christopher Campbell - University of Newcastle

Physics, 4th floor 14:00-14:30

Wednesday 25 Jan 2012Inspiring Science: Applications of Geometry and Topology

Professor Mitchell Berger - Lecturer in Mathematics

Harrison 004 17:30-18:45