Skip to main content


Dr Yang Liu

Team Members

Photograph (Left row from left to right): Mr Zepeng Wang, Mr Bo Tian, Mr Jiyuan Tian, Mr Ahmed Al Shekaili, Dr Kenneth Afebu (Postdoc), Dr Evangelos Papatheou (Lecturer), (Right row from left to right) Dr Yang Liu, Dr Shan Yin (Marie Curie Fellow), Mr Andrew Bickerdike, Dr Zhi Zhang (Postdoc), Miss Jiajia Zhang, Miss Shuning Deng (Visiting PhD). 

Postdoctoral Research Fellows/Associates:

  • Dr Shan Yin, Marie SkÅ‚odowska-Curie individual fellow, OMEGA: On the modelling of micro-robots in the gut: a non-smooth dynamics approach, since October 2021
  • Mr Kenneth Omokhagbo Afebu, EPSRC New Horizons, postdoctoral research associate, When a micro-robot encounters a bowel lesion, since September 2021
  • Mr Zhi Zhang, EPSRC Mathematical Sciences, postdoctoral research associate, Development of a mathematical tool for piecewise-smooth delay differential equations: a micro-robot’s perspective, since October 2021

PhD Students (Primary Supervisor):

  • Mr Andrew Bickerdike, On the piecewise-smooth dynamics of robot-cancer interaction at microscale, since Sep 2021
  • Mr Bo Tian, Design and optimization of micro-robots moving in the gut for biopsy, since Sep 2021
  • Mr Zepeng Wang, Design of a proof-of-concept vibro-impact capsule system for medical diagnosis and therapy, since Nov 2020
  • Mr Tom Knowles, Developing AI enabled low-cost microcontrollers, since Nov 2019
  • Mr Jiyuan Tian, Stress exploration of the self-propelled capsule robot moving through the small intestine, since Sep 2019
  • Mr Ahmed Al Shekaili, Numerical and experimental investigation of drill-string dynamics for oil and gas drilling, since Sep 2019
  • Mr Kingsley Amadi, Autonomous downhole drilling, since Jan 2019
  • Miss Jiajia Zhang, Prototype design of a self-propelled vibro-impact capsule system for small intestinal endoscopy, since Sep 2018

Visiting Scholars:

  • Miss Shuning Deng (CSC Visiting PhD Student), State Key Laboratory of Advanced Design and Manufacturing for Vehicle Body, Hunan University, Changsha, China, Mar 2021
  • Mr Haohao Bi (CSC Visiting PhD Student), Department of Applied Mathematics, Northwestern Polytechnical University, Xi'an, China, Nov 2021

Alumni and Former Members:

  • Prof. Bingyong Guo, Professor at Northwestern Polytechnical University (China)

Former Visiting Scholars:

  • Mr Wei Lin (CSC Visiting Scholar), School of Mechatronic Engineering, Southwest Petroleum University, Chengdu, China
  • Dr Xiaojun Dai (CSC Visiting Scholar), School of Civil Engineering and Architecture, Southwest Petroleum University, Chengdu, China
  • Dr Kuilin Huang, School of Mechatronic Engineering, Southwest Petroleum University, Chengdu, China
  • Dr Shiwei Niu, School of Mechatronic Engineering, Southwest Petroleum University, Chengdu, China
  • Mr Yiwei Han (CSC Visiting Scholar), School of Mechatronic Engineering, Southwest Petroleum University, Chengdu, China
  • Prof. Yundong Li (CSC Visiting Scholar), School of Mathematics and Statistics, Sichuan University of Science and Engineering, Zigong, China
  • Dr Feng Zhou (CSC Visiting Scholar), School of Aeronautics and Astronautics, University of Electronic Science and Technology of China, Chengdu, China