Skip to main content

Group members

Electromagnetic and Acoustic Materials group members

Academic Lead: Prof Rob Hicken
Academic staff
Professor Janet Anders Associate Professor in Quantum Theory
Professor Bill Barnes Professor of Photonics
Professor Jacopo Bertolotti Associated Professor in Physics
Dr Luis A. Correa Lecturer
Professor Euan Hendry Professor
Professor Alastair P Hibbins Professor in Metamaterial Physics; Director of Center for Metamaterials Research and Innovation and EPSRC CDT in Metamaterials
Professor Robert J Hicken Professor of Condensed Matter Physics
Professor Volodymyr Kruglyak Associate Professor of Physics
Dr Oleksandr Kyriienko Lecturer
Professor Feodor Ogrin Associate Professor
Professor Dave Phillips Associate Professor
Dr Anja Roeding Co-Director of the Centre for Metamaterial Research and Innovation; Programme Manager of the EPSRC Centre for Doctoral Training in Metamaterials (XM2); Co-Lead of the EPSRC UK Metamaterials Network
Professor J Roy Sambles Professor of Experimental Physics
Professor Pete Vukusic Professor of BioPhotonics & Associate Dean for Education
Dr Freddie Withers Lecturer in Electromagnetic and Acoustic Materials
Post-doctoral and research fellows
Dr Petros Androvitsaneas Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr Lauren E Barr Postdoctoral Research Fellow (TEAM-A)
Dr Joseph Beadle Postdoctoral Research Fellow (TEAM-A)
Marco Berritta Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr Maciej Dabrowski Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr Ewan Finlayson Research Fellow
Dr Cameron Patrick Gallagher Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr Joshua Hamilton Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr Ian Hooper Senior Research Fellow
Dr Simon Horsley Senior Research Fellow
Dr Kishan Menghrajani Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr Chai Mididoddi Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Michal Mrnka Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr Alexander Powell Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr Jesús Rubio Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Samuel Shelley Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr Tim Starkey Research Fellow
Dr Philip Thomas Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr Adarsh Vasista Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Research administrators
Deb Lee Centre Administrator
Experimental officers and technicians
Dr Paul Keatley Senior Experimental Officer - EXTREMAG
George Ricketts Research Technician (CDT 1)
Peter Savage Research Technician CDT (Metamaterials)
Kyle Arnold Postgraduate Researcher
Simon Baber
Milo Baraclough Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2016)
Jacob Binsley Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2018)
Justus Bohn Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2017)
David Bruce Postgraduate Researcher
James Capers Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2019)
Konstantinos Chatzimpaloglou
Soterx Chiavazzo Postgraduate
Julia Dautova Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2015)
Julia De Pineda Gutiérrez Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2016)
Kevin Fripp Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2016)
Josh Glasbey Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2019)
Jonas Glatthard
Emily Glover Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2017)
Jenner Gudge-Brooke
Valentin Haemmerli Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2018)
Rosamund Herapath Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2016)
Peter Inzani Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2017)
Nicholas Jones
Oliver Latcham
Angus Laurenson Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2015)
James Stewart Laurenson
Sara-Kate Lavers
Rachel Lennon Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2018)
Charlie-Ray Mann Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2015)
Dan Moore Postgraduate Researcher
Tom Moynihan
David Newman Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2018)
David Osuna Ruiz Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2016)
Benjamin Pearce
Harry Penketh Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2016)
Pavel Petrov Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2017)
Jacob Roth Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2016)
Carlota Ruiz De Galarreta Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2015)
Connor Sait Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2018)
Stefano Scali Postgraduate researcher
Christina Sharp Physics PhD Student
Leanne Stanfield
Beth Staples
Wai Jue Tan Postgraduate (Metamaterials CDT 2018)
David Tatnell Postgraduate Researcher (Metamaterials CDT 2017)
Nick Cole Research Engineer
Shi Guo University of Exeter