Skip to main content


Photo of Dr Marc Goodfellow

Dr Marc Goodfellow

Senior Lecturer


Telephone: 01392 723420

Extension: (Streatham) 3420

Current funded PhD opportunities: 

Mathematical models to understand large-scale brain dynamics (together with Dr. Alex Shaw) - link link

LSI PhD programme ( 

Experimental and computational dissection of naïve epiblast plasticity (with Austin Smith): 

Protein choreography at high spatiotemporal resolution: modelling the dynamics of enzyme regulation to predict drug behaviour (with JJ Phillips)


Using mobile electroencephalography (EEG) and computational modelling to understand the role of sleep in disease progression in amnestic mild cognitive impairment (based in Bath, with George Stothart - Bath and others) - link

Long-term Neural Embedding of Childhood Adversity in the Avon Longitudinal Study of Parents and Children (ALSPAC) (Based in Cardiff, with Andrew Lawrence and others) - link


Office: LSI building 5.10

I am a lecturer in Mathematics, member of the Systems Biomedicine group, affiliate of the Centre for Biomedical Modelling and Analysis and co-investigator of the EPSRC Centre for Predictive Modelling in Healthcare. My research is focussed on the development and use of mathematical and computational methods to help us understand the dynamics of complex biological systems, with a focus on problems in healthcare.

I study diverse biological systems ranging in spatial scales from cells to whole organs. Of particular interest are the dynamics of the brain, which fluctuate to give rise to evolving spatiotemporal patterns that can be significantly altered in disorders such as epilepsy. Using mathematical methods to uncover the mechanisms that govern these differences, and applying this knowledge to improve diagnosis and treatment, is an ongoing focus of my research.

Current group members:

Theo Edwards (PhD student)

Dom Dunstan (PhD student)

Arthur Spencer (PhD student, Bristol)

Joe Pinion (PhD student)

Eleanor Kubiak (MSc student)

Previous group members:

Dr. Lauric Ferrat

Dr Marinho Lopes

Dr. Luke Tait

Dr Leandro Junges

Dr. Piotr Slowinski

Dr. Petroula Laiou

Dr Hossein Mohammadi

Dr Tanja Zerenner

Miss Kathryn Bennett