Photo of Prof Jim Haywood

Prof Jim Haywood

Professor of Atmospheric Science


Telephone: 01392 725279

Extension: (Streatham) 5279

Jim has interests that include in-situ and remote sensing measurements of atmospheric aerosols and modelling their impacts upon weather, air-quality, visibility and climate. Jim has led many aircraft-based measurement campaigns investigating the impacts of Saharan dust over West Africa, biomass burning smoke over West and South Africa, pollution aerosols over Europe, and volcanic aerosols from the Eyjafjallajokull and Holuraun eruptions. He is a named inventor on several patents for volcanic ash sensors and has won research grants of over £2.3m. Modelling work that Jim has performed includes assessment of the climate impact of various different anthropogenic and natural aerosols, modelling the impact of volcanic eruptions, and the impacts of hypothetical schemes to counter global warming. Jim has published over 125 peer-reviewed articles in the scientific literature including publications in Science, Nature, Nature Climate Change, and Reviews of Geophysics. He has received a number of national and international commendations and awards for his work. Jim has been an author of the IPCC Scientific Assessment Reports since 2001; the IPCC was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for its efforts.


Associate editor for Journal of Geophysical Research (2006-2013).

Fellow of the Royal Meteorological Society.

Elected member of Global Energy and Water cycle EXperiment (GEWEX) Radiation Panel (2002-2005).

Elected member of the International Radiation Commission (2009-2016).

International Scientific Steering Committee of the African Monsoon Multidisciplinary Analysis (AMMA).


2000: NOAA Oceans and Atmospheric Research Outstanding Paper Award.

2004: AMS Henry G. Houghton award for young atmospheric scientists of outstanding ability.

2007: IPCC awarded Nobel Peace Prize.

2007: IPCC: Atmospheric Science Librarians International award for high impact comprehensive publication.

2009: Strungmann Forum Report: Atmospheric Science Librarians International award.

2009: Outstanding Scientific Award. Met Office Chairman's commendation for work on contrail induced cirrus.

2010: Editors Citation for Excellence in Refereeing for JGR-Atmospheres.

2011: Outstanding Scientific Award. Met Office Chairman's commendation for work on Eyjafjallajokull eruption.

2011: Royal Meteorolgical Society Buchan Prize for the most important original contributions to meteorology.