Staff and Students

Academic staff
Professor Peter Challenor Professor
Dr Leon Danon Senior Lecturer in Data Analytics
Dr Theo Economou Lecturer in Statistical Science (E&R)
Dr Christopher Ferro Senior Lecturer in Statistics
Dr Mark Kelson Senior Lecturer (E&R)
Dr F Hugo Lambert Senior Lecturer
Dr TJ McKinley Lecturer in Mathematical Biology
Professor Gavin Shaddick Chair of Data Science & Statistics
Professor David B. Stephenson Chair in the Statistical Modelling of Weather and
Dr Daniel Williamson Senior Lecturer
Post-doctoral and research fellows
Dr Ruth Geen Research Fellow
Dr Hossein Mohammadi Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr Joe Osborne Associate Research Fellow
Dr Marion Saint-Lu Postdoctoral Research Associate
Dr James Salter Postdoctoral Research Associate
Dr Philip Sansom Associate Research Fellow
Dr Stefan Siegert Research Fellow
Dr Ben Youngman Research Fellow
Visitors, emeritus and honorary fellows
Professor Trevor Bailey Emeritus Professor of Applied Statistics
Professor Ian Jolliffe Honorary Visiting Professor
Professor Wojtek Krzanowski Emeritus Professor
Sam Allen Postgraduate
Evan Baker Postgraduate
Hibah Bashaykh Postgraduate
Simon Clark Postgraduate
Thomas Clemo Postgraduate
Donald Cummins Postgraduate
Lauric Ferrat Postgraduate
Lilo Henke Postgraduate (Geography)
Louise Kimpton Postgraduate
Keith Mitchell Postgraduate (part-time)
Dr Nathan Owen Postgraduate
Marianne Pietschnig Postgraduate
Oliver Stoner Postgraduate
Alexander Todd Postgraduate
Victoria Volodina Postgraduate
Wenzhe Xu Postgraduate


Angus Ferraro: was a research fellow with Hugo Lambert and Mat Collins from 2014-6. He is now a secondary school teacher.

Joe Osborne: completed his PhD with Hugo Lambert in 2015. Now an associate research fellow in the Climate Systems group.

Pat Sessford: completed his PhD with Chris Ferro in 2014.

Rachel Warren: completed her PhD with Trevor Bailey in 2015. Now at the Met Office.

Robin Williams: completed his PhD with Chris Ferro in 2016. Now at ATASS Sports.